The Nudist Lifestyle

I’ve been practicing naturism for years,  but it was only known to my ex-, few of my friends at work, and to Jyothika,(I’ll get to that in a while). 

Nudism/Naturism for me all these years has been like a therapy to me. A means of unwinding, relaxing, forgetting all those events of bullying as a kid that left me highly critical of my own appearances. Learning to love your body once again and accept your image.

More importantly Naturism doesn’t imply eroticism, just because a man/woman prefers to spend his/her time naked either at home or out in the open doesn’t mean he/she is on the lookout for sex on-the-go. Though I feel nudism does boost your sex drive it doesn’t mean that we participate in any such kind of orgy of any sort.

After I met Karina, I realized, I wasn’t alone, there might be several out there, who practice Nudism but haven’t spoken up about it. So for those of you, who feel like this could be a healthy practice and wonder how to get around about it, then this blog is for you.

Becoming a Naturist

Not everyone is comfortable with being without clothes. The only time people are usually naked is while bathing or sometimes during sex (not necessarily naked though). This happens to be our biggest barrier i.e. Learning to shed our clothes and accept the image of our ‘beautiful bodies’. 

sofa-post2

Again, beautiful is just a perspective, its how you view yourself. You need to learn to love yourself and accept that even if you are few kilos more or less, your body is beautiful. Society has always taught us to protect our modesty. It is going to take some time for you to even start using the word ‘beautiful body’ to describe yourself. But take your time.

Step1: Get naked by yourself:

You’ve got to start somewhere. Experiment with yourself, shirtless or bottomless, in your knickers either while watching tv, talking on the phone or reading the newspaper or carrying out your regular exercise/ yoga (in my case). You will slowly start to feel comfortable without clothing on.  And when you think your ready, lose that underwear when your indoors.

Step2: If you’ve got a close friend, talk to them about nudity.

Talking to someone is all it takes to get around it. You don’t have to pull a megaphone and campaign on nudism or even admit that you would like to try it. Just bring up the topic casually with a close friend whom you trust. Ask them what they think of nudism and how they view people who practice it? Their views will give you a hint on whether your practices should be known among friends or whether it must be a secret. In my case, I initially spoke to my aunt who also practiced nudism. Spending time at her place really taught me what is and what’s not allowed among nudist.

Step4: Make sleeping nude a habit:

The best experience of naturism is probably lying down and not doing anything. There are several benefits to sleeping nude, so try it…

Step5: If you have a partner, try bathing together (optional)

Your partner may not necessarily enjoy nudism or go prancing on a beach stark naked. But bathing together at home is something that really prepares you to being with another nude individual. Though I am just friends with Karina, and in no relationship, she recommended to bathing together just to get used to another person’s body. Once you’ve tried this a couple of times you won’t feel awkward undressing at a naturist location.

Step 6: Practice nudism while your partner/ close friend is fully dressed (someone whom you trust/trusts you)

Once you’ve talked to your partner/friend about nudism and your practices, IF and only IF they accept your practices, you could give this a try. Again, this is just one possible way you could feel confident about yourself while being naked, however, if your partner/friend tells you they are uncomfortable with another nude individual, you need to stop, right away!!! There is a very thin line between naturism and exhibitionism. And yes, there is a big difference between the two.

Here’s the thing, my ex- found my nudism to be initially cute but later expressed utter annoyance towards it. However, my collegemate and coworker, Jyothika (who also clicks my pictures for these blogs) seems to be fine with it, even though she isn’t a naturist.

 Now, why on earth would someone try that? Well, if you’re ever going to visit an outdoor nude event (swimming, cycling, meet-up provided it is legal) it is very likely there will be clothed people, staring at you.

Step7: Learn to control your erections, nudism isn’t about displaying your sexual urge.

Very important when you try naturism. Erect penis is a strong No-No. Whether at a nudist beach or a naturist group meet-up, people with erections will be sent out. The reason why I recommended to bathe with your partner earlier is simply to avoid getting frequent erections in front of other nude people. (Your sexual urge can be fulfilled only when your partner allows it at home)

Step8: Use the balcony as your gateway to naturism

  1.  

One way to really connect with the outside world would obviously be the balcony. Spend some time, probably early mornings/evenings casually looking out, feeling the sun against your body, just don’t do anything to attract attention. Most of my early naturism was practiced in my balcony overlooking the traffic either watering plants or just sipping tea.

Step9: Find a quiet, secluded spot to practice naturism (alone/partner)

For me this was the riverbanks at my grandparent’s place. I have walked long stretches in the nude, including swimming. Walking in a public place will definitely get you arrested, so its’ only a secluded spot that is up for trying. Make sure no one’s around.

Step 10: Visit a naturist group meetup

This isn’t necessary, if you don’t wish to meet up with like-minded nudists it’s totally fine. But if you are interested, look out for nudist/naturist meet-up, take a friend along if you don’t feel safe.

Pros:

  • My teenage years were mostly spent in hating myself and my puny image. I’ve come a long way since then. The naturist lifestyle simply ensures me, that I am the best I could possibly be.
  • That sheer sense of freedom. That adrenaline rush when you stroll out into the wild. No rules or barriers.
  • Improved sleep pattern.
  • Better sex. Well obviously, when you not ashamed of your body, you only focus on love making, it doesn’t matter whether you do it in bed, on the couch or in the open, it’s highly pleasurable.

Cons:

  • It still isn’t legal in many parts of the world.
  • Backlash from friends is probable. A handfull of my friends have unfriended me when they learnt of my naturism.
  • Can tarnish your reputation.
  • I sometimes tend to forget, whether or not I’m wearing my pants when I leave home. Yikes

Published by cyrusthenudist

Free spirited, movie buff, burger lover, ambidextrous artist and practicing naturist.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started